US Women in Trucking founder Ellen Voie named NASTC’s 2018 Transportation Person of the Year

Wednesday, November 7, 2018

NASTC president David Owen, WIT president Ellen Voie, and FMCSA administrator Ray Martinez.

The National Association of Small Trucking Companies (NASTC) named Ellen Voie, president and CEO of Women In Trucking Association (WIT) as the 2018 Transportation Person of the Year. The announcement was recently made at the NASTC annual conference in Nashville, TN.

Voie created WIT in 2007 and has been a spokesperson for gender diversity in the trucking industry ever since. The association was formed to promote the employment of women in the trucking industry, remove obstacles that might keep them from succeeding, and to celebrate the successes of its members.

Today, over a decade later, Voie, the association, and its members are collectively a force to be reckoned with economically and politically. They have enhanced and elevated the image of trucking and its professional drivers to another level.

“I am truly honoured to be recognised by David Owen and his team as the 2018 Person of the Year,” Voie said. “We’ve had a long partnership with NASTC and they have been supportive of our efforts to increase the percentage of women employed in the trucking industry by recognising a female professional driver each year at their conference,” Voie added.

NASTC president David Owen said NASTC was honoured to count Voie as one of its long-time partners and colleagues.

“We are proud to name her our Transportation Person of the Year, 2018. Her vision, energy, and forward-thinking has propelled women throughout the transportation industry to the forefront at a critical time in an extremely male-dominated industry.”

Voie’s background in the trucking industry began in 1980, when she earned a diploma in Traffic and Transportation Management while employed as traffic manager for a steel fabricating plant in central Wisconsin.

In 2015 Voie was appointed to serve a two-year term on the FMCSA’s Entry Level Driver Training Advisory Committee. She serves on the board of directors of the Wisconsin Motor Carrier Association and is a member of the Wisconsin DOT’s Motor Carrier Advisory Committee.